Delhi NCRGhaziabad

Uttar Pradesh waives road tax ; Relief to People living In NCR

Ghaziabad : The state government has given relief to lakhs of people of UP living in NCR. Now, these people will not have to pay road tax. The Transport Department of the state had signed an agreement between four states Delhi, Haryana, Rajasthan, and UP regarding road tax. Yogi Adityanath’s cabinet on Tuesday gave nod to a proposal to exempt state transport buses and school buses registered in NCR from paying tax when crossing the border into another NCR state. Till now, the facility was being extended to cabs, taxis and auto rickshaws.

The state entered into an agreement with three NCR states including Delhi, Haryana and Rajasthan over the regulation of road tax. The decision to impose tax only once on vehicles plying in NCR states was taken by the NCR Planning Board on August 31, 2021.

Maha Shivratri Post 2 1

According to UP Transport Minister Dayashankar Singh, this decision was taken to ensure hassle-free travel in the NCR region. Once a vehicle was registered in an NCR area and carried a valid permit, it would not be needed to pay any other tax while travelling within the region. “This will cause a loss of about Rs 12 crore to Uttar Pradesh but on the other hand, it will also benefit lakhs of people,” said the minister.

Indianthem Ad

Umesh Kumar

Umesh is a senior journalist with more than 15 years of experience. Freelance photo journalist with some leading newspapers, magazines, and news websites and is now associated with Local Post as Consulting Editor

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Back to top button