NewsUP Elections 2022

In About A Dozen Seats Of Uttar Pradesh, The Decision Of Defeat And Victory Was Taken With A Difference Of Less Than 500 Votes.

New Delhi (NewsReach) : In about a dozen seats in the Uttar Pradesh assembly elections, the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and the Samajwadi Party (SP)-led alliances were fiercely contested and the victory and defeat were decided by a margin of less than 500 votes. An analysis of the election results shows that the margin of victory and defeat in 11 seats was 500 votes, while there were one and a half dozen seats where the victory and defeat was decided by less than one thousand votes.

The candidates of the BJP alliance defeated the candidates of the SP alliance in seven seats by a margin of less than 500 votes, while the candidates of the SP alliance similarly defeated the candidates of the BJP alliance in four seats. BJP, Apna Dal (S) and Nishad Party together won 273 seats in the assembly elections for 403 seats in Uttar Pradesh, while the alliance of Samajwadi Party, Rashtriya Lok Dal (RLD) and Suhaildev Bhartiya Samaj Party got 125 seats. BJP alone won 255 seats while Samajwadi Party won 111 seats. In the 2017 assembly elections, the margin of victory and defeat in eight seats was less than one thousand votes.

Out of these five seats were won by BJP candidates, while two seats were won by Bahujan Samaj Party and one seat by SP candidate. In the last election, the toughest contest was in Dumariaganj seat. Here Raghavendra Pratap Singh of BJP defeated Syeda Khatoon of SP by 171 votes. In this election, the toughest contest was in three assembly seats in Bijnor district and two in Barabanki. There was a fierce fight in Dhampur assembly seat of Bijnor district. In a very close contest here, BJP’s Ashok Kumar Rana defeated SP’s Naeem-ul-Hasan by just 203 votes. Bijnor’s Chandpur seat also saw a fierce contest, but the victory finally went to Swami Omvesh of SP. He defeated Kamlesh Saini of BJP by 234 votes. Nahtaur seat of the same district saw an interesting contest and after several rounds of uproar, Omkumar of BJP finally defeated Munshi Ram of RLD by 258 votes.

There was fierce competition in the Kursi assembly seat of Barabanki district as well. BJP’s Sankendra Pratap defeated SP’s Rakesh Kumar Verma by 217 votes here. In Ramnagar seat of Barabanki district, SP’s Farid Kidwai defeated BJP’s Shadkumar Awasthi by 261 votes. There was also a tussle in the Isauli assembly seat of Sultanpur district. From here Tahir Khan of SP defeated Om Prakash Pandey of BJP by 269 votes. An interesting contest was also seen in Bilaspur assembly seat of Rampur district. Baldev Singh Aulakh of BJP got the victory after the neck-to-neck contest here. He defeated Amarjeet Singh of SP by 307 votes. The contest was also tight in Baraut seat of Baghpat district. Ultimately the victory went to BJP’s Krishna Pal Malik. He defeated RLD’s candidate Jaiveer by 315 votes.

In the Nakud assembly of Saharanpur district, there was a fierce fight between the BJP and the SP. From here Mukesh Chaudhary of BJP defeated Dharam Singh Saini of SP by 315 votes. Saini was a minister in Chief Minister Yogi’s government and joined the Samajwadi Party, leaving the BJP just before the elections. There was also a neck-and-neck fight in the Katra assembly seat of Gonda district. Here Veer Vikram Singh of BJP defeated Rajesh Yadav of SP by 357 votes while Pradeep Kumar Yadav of SP defeated Lakhan Singh Rajput of BJP by 473 votes in Dibiyapur seat of Auraiya district.

In Shahganj seat of Jaunpur district, Ramesh Nirbal of Nishad Party defeated Shailendra Yadav Lalai, MLA and strongman of SP by 719 votes, while Syeda Khatoon of SP won from Dumariaganj seat of Siddharthnagar district. He defeated Raghavendra Pratap Singh of BJP by 771 votes in a fork contest. BJP’s Ritesh Kumar Gupta defeated SP’s Yusuf Ansari by 782 votes from Moradabad Nagar seat in Moradabad district, while the victory went to Sachin Yadav of SP in a fierce contest in Jasrana seat of Firozabad district. He defeated Manvendra Singh of BJP by 836 votes.

Munish Kumar

Munish is a senior journalist with more than 18 years of experience. Freelance photo journalist with some leading newspapers, magazines, and news websites, has extensively contributing to The Times of India, Delhi Times, Wire, ANI, PTI, Nav Bharat Times & Business Byte and is now associated with Local Post as Editor

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Back to top button